Wearing a maxi dress in Winter?

maxi dress winter style

1. WITH A CARDI

I know this sounds obvious, but the easiest way to convert a summer maxi into a fall outfit would be to add a cute cardigan. Choose from cropped, drapey, fitted, or long, depending on which looks best with the particular maxi dress. This is the easiest way to go from chilly to cozy in a maxi dress!

2. WITH A THERMAL UNDERNEATH

I have a super-cute tank-style maxi dress from summer that I love wearing in the fall with a floral-print thermal underneath. Get creative! You don’t have to opt for a thermal that matches the maxi, just one that compliments it!

3. WITH A BLAZER

I have an empire-waist maxi with a tiny floral print that looks smashing with my cropped, fitted velvet blazer… I know it sounds odd, but it looks darling! Try your blazers or denim jackets with your maxis… you might be surprised at how cute they look together!

4. WITH BOOTS

I love the way some of my summer maxi dresses look with boots ankle boots, riding boots, even hiking boots. Try them together in different combinations until you find the maxi-boot look that works best for you!

5. WITH A CROPPED PULL-OVER SWEATER

I have a very fitted maxi dress that I love wearing with a cropped pull-over sweater. It’s very chic, and somewhat unexpected — and a lot warmer than wearing a skirt and sweater, for the extra layer of the maxi dress on top.

XOXO MOD GIRL SARA

This entry was published on December 3, 2014 at 4:40 pm. It’s filed under STYLE and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.
